Two BMP scholarships and two winners!

The Brome-Missisquoi-Perkins Hospital Foundation is pleased to reveal the names of the students selected to receive the two BMP Foundation scholarships. Yes, two scholarships! This year, thanks to a donation from the Chawkers Foundation, the BMP Foundation was able not only to ensure the continuation of the health care scholarship program for years to come, but also to create a second bursary in nursing for a CEGEP student. We would like to warmly thank the Chawkers Foundation for its generous contribution. These two BMP scholarships come in addition to the four scholarships offered to four high schools in our region.


The BMP Scholarship – Health Care

The BMP – Health Care Scholarship is intended for high school graduates in the region who intend to pursue college studies in the health care. This program was designed to encourage local students to pursue a career in the health care. The winner of the 2019 BMP Health Care Scholarship is Ms. Sarah Charest. Listening to others and their concerns, Sarah Charest has distinguished herself through her humanistic approach and her desire to make an impact in people’s lives. Congratulations to her!


The BMP Scholarship – Nursing

This scholarship targets future nursing students specifically and encourages young people to get involved in this environment that is currently in need of workers. The winner of the BMP Nursing Scholarship is Ms. Élodie Couture. Human, empathetic, caring and a real go-getter, her natural leadership qualities impressed the jury members.

Both bursaries offer an amount of $1 000 renewable annually throughout the student’s college career, for a maximum of three years. The two bursaries winners were chosen by a Selection Committee composed of a of a school institution’s director (retired), a BMP Hospital staff member and a person member of the community.


A commitment for the future

At a time when recruiting young people is proving difficult in the health field and more particularly in nursing, the Brome-Missisquoi-Perkins Hospital Foundation wants to undertake specific actions. By establishing the scholarship program, the BMP Foundation allows donors to directly impact the future of health care in their region and also make improvements within their Hospital.

From left to right : Mrs. Nancy Brilvicas, jury member; Mrs. Lola Landes, Executive Director of the BMP Foundation; Ms. Sarah Charest, winner of the BMP Scholarship – Health Care; Ms. Élodie Couture, winner of the BMP Scholarship – Nursing; Mr. François Riendeau and Mrs. Rosane Rivard, jury members.