In order to stimulate the interest of young people in our region towards health sciences, and more particularly within the BMP Hospital, the Foundation has developed three programs :


From left to right : Mrs. Nancy Brilvicas, jury member; Mrs. Lola Landes, Executive Director of the BMP Foundation; Ms. Sarah Charest, winner of the BMP Scholarship – Health Care; Ms. Élodie Couture, winner of the BMP Scholarship – Nursing; Mr. François Riendeau and Mrs. Rosane Rivard, jury members.

In 2019, the Chawkers Foundation has given a generous contribution to the BMP Foundation, which not only allows the pursuit of the Bursary program (CEGEP and high school) for the years to come, but also made possible the creation of a second bursary for a CEGEP student: The BMP Scholarship – Health Care and the BMP Scholarship – Nursing.

The BMP Scholarship – Health Care is open to graduating students from Brome-Missisquoi high schools who are pursuing studies in health care. The program is designed to encourage local students to pursue a career in health care and, at the same time, to develop a positive working relationship between the community and the BMP Hospital.

The BMP Scholarship – Nursing, on the other hand, targets future nursing students only and encourages young people to get involved in this environment that is currently in need of workers.

Both scholarships offer an amount of $1,000, renewable annually throughout the student’s college program, for a maximum of three years. The two scholarship winners will be selected by a Selection Committee composed of a director of a school institution, a BMP Hospital staff member and a person from the community.

The BMP Hospital Foundation sincerely thanks the Chawkers Foundation for their support towards the students of the area!


BMP Foundation Scholarship Program

  1. Objectives

The BMP Foundation Scholarships serve two objectives:

  • To encourage and assist local students to undertake or pursue college studies in the field of health or nursing, depending on the scholarship provided.;
  • To establish and nurture a positive working relationship between the recipient and the BMP Hospital (CIUSSS de l’Estrie – CHUS La Pommeraie) as a possible place of future employment.
  1. Eligibility

The program is open to any graduating high school student, who resides within the Brome-Missisquoi territory, and who wish to pursue studies in a health   care profession, associated with the BMP Hospital. A proof of residency, such as a report card or an official grade report, must be attached to the application form.

  1. Program Details

The two recipients will each receive a $1,000 scholarship (awarded in two instalments), renewable each year of their CEGEP studies, for a maximum of three years.

  1. Application Requirements

Candidates will be required to provide the following documentation to support their application:

  • The completed form, according to the BMP Scholarship requested:
  • A covering letter (see details below) – this letter will be a determining factor in the choice of candidates who will be invited to the interview;
  • A letter of recommendation from a school source, either a teacher, an advisor or the principal;
  • School reports for the previous year and for the current year.

The final date for applications is April 1 of each year.

For any questions, do not hesitate to contact the BMP Foundation at 450-266-5548 or

Please mail these documents no later than April 1st, to:

Brome-Missisquoi-Perkins Hospital Foundation


950 Principale Street

Cowansville QC J2K 1K3

NB: The BMP Foundation reserves the right to not award a scholarship in any given year.

Applications for the scholarship  must be received by April 1st, 2019, inclusively.  


BMP Scholarship – Health Care Winners

2019 : Sarah Charest, Farnham

2018 : Lévika Gonzalez, Sutton
2017 : Frédérick Girard, Cowansville
2016 : Rosanne Ducharme-Turcotte, Cowansville
2015 : Kiana Deschênes et Arous Yosra
2014 : Sandra Cyr, Waterloo
2013 : Maxime Dumas-Landry, Cowansville
2012 : Melissa Côté-Bonneau, Cowansville
2011 : Nancy St-Aubin, Dunham
2010 : Sébastien Dion, Bromont
2009 : Ariane Lessard-Dostie, Dunham
2008 : Naomie Larose, Bromont
2007 : Élie-Anne Guay, Bedford
2006 : Valerie Breault, Brigham
2005 : Julie Beauchemin, Shefford
2004 : Émie Gagnon, Dunham
2003 : Linda Ling, Bedford
2002 : Pierre Olivier Monast, Cowansville


BMP Scholarship – Nursing Winner

2019 : Élodie Couture, Farnham



The Foundation also supports the local high schools to provide awards of excellence for graduate students who wish to continue their studies in the healthcare. Students are selected by their school.

2019 Winners : 

École Massey Vanier, Cowansville (English) : Chloé Francoeur et Mya Wilson

École Massey Vanier, Cowansville (French) : Morèna Jacques et Imad Boumena

École Jean-Jacques-Bertrand, Farnham : Valérie Haman

École Wilfrid-Léger, Waterloo : Mylène Dostie et Sophie Gagnée-Bourassa



The BMP Foundation organizes guided school visits for students at the end of their course from the four regional high schools to enable them to discover career opportunities in the healthcare field at the BMP Hospital. Each year, 60-70 students go on these one-day visits and are exposed to careers in medicine, nursing, laboratory, pharmacy, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, medical imaging, and respiratory therapy.

Student Testimonials

“Thank you very much for this unique opportunity. I truly enjoyed this visit since it confirmed my will to pursue my studies in the field of healthcare.  It allowed me to discover other occupations little or not known to me. Thank you so much!” – Félix Roberge

“Thanks to the visit, I have now made a final decision on my college field of study. Thank you very much!” – Alexandre Roy

“I loved the fact that Dr. Pincott is still passionate about his former job as a doctor. This shows me that it’s possible to be passionate about your work.” – Alexia Larose